Monday, November 14, 2011

Homestead-Miami Speedway History and Notes


 Groundbreaking for Homestead-Miami Dade Motorsports Complex – as the track was originally named – began Aug. 24, 1993. The first race was a NASCAR Nationwide Series event on Nov. 5, 1995.

 The original configuration was a four-turn, rectangular oval based on Indianapolis Motor Speedway's layout.

 The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Homestead was held on Nov. 14, 1999.

 2002 was the first season of the Championship Weekend at Homestead, with all three of NASCAR’s national series holding their season finale at the same track.

 Since the inception of the position-based points system in 1975, only three drivers have made up a points deficit in the season finale: Richard Petty in 1979 (made up two points on Darrell Waltrip), Alan Kulwicki in 1992 (made up 30 points on Davey Allison) and Jimmie Johnson in 2010 (made up 15 points on Denny Hamlin).

 There have been 12 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Homestead, one per season since 1999.

 Five drivers have competed in all 12 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte, Elliott Sadler and Tony Stewart.

 David Green won the first pole, in 1999.

 Tony Stewart won the inaugural race, in 1999.

 There have been nine different pole winners. Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne and Jimmie Johnson lead all drivers, with two.

 There have been eight different race winners, led by Greg Biffle, with three.

 Jack Roush has won seven races, most among owners.

 The race has been won from the pole twice: Bill Elliott (2001) and Kurt Busch (2002).

 The race has been won from a top-10 starting position in nine of 12 races.

 Denny Hamlin won in 2009 from the 38th starting position, the furthest back a race winner has started.

 Three active drivers have averaged a top-10 finish: Carl Edwards (5.7), Kevin Harvick (7.9) and A.J. Allmendinger (8.7).

Homestead-Miami Speedway Data
Race: 36 of 36 (11-20-11)

Track Size: 1.5 miles

Race Length: 267 laps/400.5 miles

 Banking/Corners: 18 - 20 degrees

 Banking/Straights: 4 degrees

 Frontstretch: 1,760 feet

 Backstretch: 1,760 feet

Nascar Media Press Release

No comments:

Post a Comment