Tuesday, November 22, 2011

27 Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards

Of the 17 Programs with Finalists: Four Players from Alabama, Two from LSU, Oregon and Stanford

Finalists for The Home Depot College Football Awards – live on Thursday, Dec. 8, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN – were announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special on ESPNU. Quarterbacks Andrew Luck of Stanford, Kellen Moore of Boise State and Alabama running back Trent Richardson highlight the list of outstanding student-athletes in contention. The 21th annual awards show – hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard and Erin Andrews – will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.


Chuck Bednarik Award, College Defensive Player of the Year
 Dont'a Hightower, Alabama
Tyrann Mathieu. LSU
Devon Still, Penn State

Biletnikoff Award, Nation’s Most Outstanding Receiver
Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State*
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
Robert Woods, USC

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award,Nation’s Most Outstanding Placekicker
Randy Bullock, Texas A&M
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Caleb Sturgis, Florida

Ray Guy Award, Nation’s Most Outstanding Punter
Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech
Steven Clark, Auburn
Jackson Rice, Oregon

Maxwell Award, College Player of the Year
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Trent Richardson, Alabama

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, Nation’s Best Quarterback
Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Case Keenum, Houston
Andrew Luck, Stanford

Outland Trophy, Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
David DeCastro, Stanford
Barrett Jones, Alabama
Devon Still, Penn State

Jim Thorpe Award, Nation’s Most Outstanding Defensive Back
David Amerson, NC State
Mark Barron, Alabama
Morris Claiborne, LSU

Doak Walker Award, Nation’s Most Outstanding Running Back
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
LaMichael James, Oregon*
Trent Richardson, Alabama
*2010 award winner.

Additionally, the John Mackey Award (most outstanding tight end) and the Rimington Award (most outstanding center) will be presented during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show. Dwayne Allen of Clemson, Orson Charles of Georgia and Tyler Eifert of Notre Dame were announced as finalists for the John Mackey Award during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special.

Earlier, the University of Alabama football team was announced as this year’s recipient of the Disney Sports Spirit Award, given annually to the most inspirational figure or team in college football. Alabama was selected for its extraordinary efforts to help aid and rebuild the western Alabama region following last spring’s devastating tornado. Long snapper Carson Tinker, who lost his girlfriend Ashley Harrison in the storm, will accept the award on behalf of the team at the award show.

ESPN MediaZone PR

No comments:

Post a Comment