Monday, July 9, 2012

New Hampshire Motor Speedway History and Notes

At New Hampshire Motor Speedway:
· Groundbreaking for New Hampshire International Speedway, as New Hampshire Motor Speedway was originally named, was Aug. 13, 1989.

· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was on July 11, 1993.

· Renamed New Hampshire Motor Speedway in 2008.

· There have been 34 NASCAR Sprint Cup races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; one per year from 1993 through 1996 and two per year since.

· Four drivers have competed in all 34 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Joe Nemechek.

· Mark Martin won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup pole.

· Rusty Wallace won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race.

· There have been 17 different pole winners, led by Ryan Newman (six).

· 20 different drivers have won, led by Jeff Burton (four).

· Jimmie Johnson (2003) and Kurt Busch (2004) are the only drivers that have posted season sweeps. Those are also the only back-to-back winners.

· Hendrick Motorsports has won eight races, more than any other organization.

· The deepest in the field that a New Hampshire race winner started was 38th, by Jeff Burton in 1999.

· There have been five winners who started from the pole. The last race winner to win from the pole was Ryan Newman last season.

· Jeff Burton led all 300 laps raced in the 2000 fall race.

· Five drivers got their first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win at New Hampshire: Joe Nemechek (1999), Robby Gordon (2001), Ryan Newman (2002), Clint Bowyer (2007) and Joey Logano (2009).

· Two drivers got their first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coors Light Pole at New Hampshire: Patrick Carpentier (2008) and Brad Keselowski (2010).

· Denny Hamlin (9.0) is the only active driver with an average finish at NHMS in the top 10.

· Jeff Gordon has led the most NASCAR Sprint Cup Series laps all-time at New Hampshire at 1,304.

· Last fall’s event (9/25/11) at NHMS tied the records for most all-time leaders (15), and fewest laps led by the winner (2).

· Youngest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series New Hampshire Motor Speedway winner: Joey Logano (06/28/2009 – 19 years, 1 month, 4 days).

· Oldest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series New Hampshire Motor Speedway winner: Mark Martin (09/20/2009 – 50 years, 8 months, 11 days).

New Hampshire Motor Speedway Data:
Race #: 19 of 36 (07-15-12)
Track Size: 1.058-miles
Race Length: 301 laps / 318.46 miles
· Banking/Turns: Variable 2-7 degrees
· Banking/Straights: 1 degree
· Frontstretch: 1,500 feet
· Backstretch: 1,500 feet

- NASCAR Statistics

No comments:

Post a Comment