Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Indianapolis Motor Speedway History and Notes

At Indianapolis Motor Speedway:
· Indianapolis Motor Speedway has existed since 1909, and is the original "Speedway," the first racing facility to incorporate the word into its name.

· There have been 18 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since the first race in 1994.

· Four drivers have competed in all 18 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Mark Martin.

· Rick Mast won the first pole in 1994.

· Jeff Gordon won the 1994 inaugural race.

· There have been 15 different pole winners.

· Jeff Gordon leads all pole winners with three.

· 11 drivers have won, led by Jeff Gordon with four victories.

· Jimmie Johnson (three), Dale Jarrett and Tony Stewart (two each) are the other multiple winners.

· Hendrick Motorsports has won seven races, more than any other organization.

· Nine races have been won from a top-five starting position.

· The furthest back a race winner has started at Indianapolis was 27th, by Jeff Gordon in 2001.

· Two drivers have won from the pole: Kevin Harvick in 2003 and Jimmie Johnson in 2008.

· Dale Jarrett (1996), Jimmie Johnson (2006) and Jamie McMurray (2010) are the only drivers to win both the Daytona 500 and the Brickyard 400 in the same season.

· Tony Stewart (8.0), Jeff Gordon (9.0) and Kevin Harvick (10.0) are the only active drivers to average a top-10 finish.

· Three of the last five Indianapolis races ending under green had a margin of victory under one second.

· 14 of the 18 races have been won by a past, reigning or future NASCAR Sprint Cup champion. The only four that were not: Ricky Rudd in 1997, Kevin Harvick in 2003, Jamie McMurray in 2010 and Paul Menard in 2011.

· The winner of the Indianapolis race has won the championship in the same year seven times in the 18 years the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has raced there:

2009: Jimmie Johnson

2008: Jimmie Johnson

2006: Jimmie Johnson

2005: Tony Stewart

2001: Jeff Gordon

2000: Bobby Labonte

1999: Dale Jarrett

1998: Jeff Gordon

· Youngest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Indianapolis Motor Speedway winner: Jeff Gordon (08/06/1994 – 23 years, 0 months, 2 days).

· Oldest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Indianapolis Motor Speedway winner: Bill Elliott (08/04/2002 – 46 years, 9 months, 27 days).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Data
Race #: 20 of 36 (07-29-12)
Track Size: 2.5-miles
Race Length: 160 laps / 400 miles
· Banking/Turns: 9 degrees
· Banking/Straights: 0 degree
· Frontstretch: 3,330 feet
· Backstretch: 3,300 feet


No comments:

Post a Comment