Monday, January 7, 2013

The Sprint Unlimited At Daytona To Launch The 2013 NASCAR Season

Sprint has partnered with Daytona International Speedway to sponsor The Sprint Unlimited At Daytona, the fan-favorite non-points event formerly known as the Daytona Shootout that traditionally kicks off the stock car portion of Budweiser Speedweeks 2013 and the NASCAR season.

The race will once again be held under the lights on Saturday night, Feb. 16 (FOX 8 p.m. ET) but will feature several new elements that will make this event even more of a fan favorite. Fans in attendance will be eligible to receive special upgraded race experiences from Sprint including roles as Grand Marshal, Honorary Starter, and trophy presenter. Fans can also help deliver the trophy to Gatorade Victory Lane or participate in driver introductions during pre-race ceremonies.

In addition to the new fan elements, The Sprint Unlimited marks the first time the new NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race cars will compete on-track in an event. Dubbed "Gen 6," the new-look sixth generation cars highlight greater brand identity for the manufacturers and are expected to heighten the rivalries among drivers and manufacturers.

As announced earlier in the year, the format for selecting the field of drivers in the invitation-only event will return to its roots for 2013. The eligible field of drivers will consist of pole winners from the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season and past winners of The Sprint Unlimited who have attempted to qualify for at least one race during the 2012 season.

Tickets for The Sprint Unlimited start at $39 and are available for purchase at or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP. Children 12 and under are free in general admission grandstands and the Sprint FANZONE.

Fans can follow Miss Sprint Cup (@MissSprintCup) and NASCAR (@NASCAR) on Twitter and stay up to speed on the latest news by using hashtags #SprintUnlimited, #NASCAR, #DAYTONA500 and #NASCARBattle. 

In addition, fans can also stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Pinterest for all the latest news all season long.

The field for The Sprint Unlimited is currently at 22 drivers and features a who’s who of NASCAR stars.

2012 Pole Winners:
Greg Biffle

Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Carl Edwards

Denny Hamlin

Kasey Kahne

Mark Martin

Jeff Gordon

Martin Truex Jr.

Tony Stewart

AJ Allmendinger

Aric Almirola

Joey Logano

Marcos Ambrose

Jimmie Johnson

Matt Kenseth

Kyle Busch

Juan Pablo Montoya

Past champions of The Sprint Unlimited:
Kurt Busch

Kevin Harvick

Bill Elliott

Terry Labonte

Ken Schrader

- NASCAR Press Release

No comments:

Post a Comment