Monday, June 25, 2012

Kentucky Speedway History and Notes

At Kentucky Speedway:
History:· In 1998, the track broke ground in Sparta, Kentucky, and opened as a 1.5-mile speedway in 2000.

· The original owners, Jerry Carroll and four other investors owned the track until 2008, when current owners, Speedway Motorsports Inc. purchased the facility.

· Since 2000, the track has hosted 11 NASCAR Nationwide Series (2001-2011) and 13 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races (2000-2011).

· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race was held in 2011.

· There has been one NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Kentucky Speedway (2011).

· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup qualifying at Kentucky was cancelled due to weather. The starting line-up was set per the NASCAR Rule Book.

· Kyle Busch won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race; he started from the first position.

· The 2011 event had 20 lead changes among 20 leaders.

· Of the scheduled 267 laps, Kyle Busch led the most with 125, followed by Brad Keselowski with 79 laps led.

· 23 cars of the 43-car field finished on the lead lap, with 34 cars running at the finish.

· The margin of victory for the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kentucky was 0.179 seconds.

· Youngest/Oldest NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Kentucky Speedway winner: Kyle Busch (07/09/2011 – 26 years, 2 months, 7 days).

· Jimmie Johnson leads all drivers in wins at 1.5-mile race tracks (16 wins).

Kentucky Speedway Data:
Race #: 17 of 36 (06-30-12)
Track Size: 1.5 miles
Race Length: 267 laps / 400.5 miles
· Banking/Turns: 14 degrees
· Banking/Frontstretch: 8 degrees
· Banking/Backstretch: 4 degrees
· Frontstretch: 1,662 feet
· Backstretch: 1,600 feet


No comments:

Post a Comment